RSS

Life’s a gas!

07 Jan

One of the joys of creating bicycles for me is the forming of once individual tubes and bits of old bicycle into a whole new shape, be it a cargo type bike or recumbent or just a plaything that’ll go nowhere. To this end, I MIG weld the parts together (that’s why all my bikes that I build are steel so far!)

MIG welding, to me, is one of the most relaxing pastimes any creator can learn. Whoa, don’t get me wrong, my welds, although strong, are definitely not in the super duper, wow look at that weld type of weld but given practice and a fair bit of frustration, they will get better.

So, this morning, I get up and think it’s about time for the next project bike. A nice cargo bike to go shopping on, I think. Frames (I have a few) sorted and a shape is formed in my head on what it should look like.

Check tools. Grinder. Check. Cutting disks. Yep. Spanners and accompanying bike dismantling ephemera. Uh-huh. Welding wire. A bit but enough to  get me started. Gas. Ah, gas.

Guess who didn’t check if the gas was turned off then the last time he used it then? The saving grace was that I’m sure that there wasn’t a lot of gas left in the bottle anyway but I really could do without being so stupid. You see, I’m what you would call ‘ in between paid employment ‘ right now so money, as you can guess, is so tight it squeaks as our wonderful government decided as I was self employed over the past few years; now work in that field has dried up, they ‘aint going to help me in ways of money. I paid my taxes (unlike some larger, more profitable organisations I can mention), I even paid my national insurance but it seems the money I paid in is not to help me but to give ‘Jeremy and Rebecca’ on a joint income of 80 grand (but individually not earning more than 50 grand each, oh no.) help to raise their little brat of an offspring (no doubt called something stupid like, Boxcart or Cherryade). Bitter? Moi? What do the department of stealth and total obscurity want to do to help someone who wants to branch out and make a difference to this world in any way they can? Nothing. Nada. Not a jot. Thanks, it makes me proud to live in this wonderful democracy that they call England (plc)

Ranting aside, this site is about bikes, not politics.

This leaves me with a dilemma. I need to make things to a) make money and b) stop me going insane while I look for other paid work. I need money to buy gas. I have no money. I can’t buy gas. I can’t make things. I can’t make money. Bugger.

So if any of you who’ve got this far in this post without falling asleep know where I can get some gas from (it’s CO2 in a 14kg bottle. You know, the sort used in pubs to make lager go all fizzy) drop us a line. You could even make me believe that people aren’t all bad after all!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2013 in Inane ramblings

 

Leave a Reply

 
